Books Books: Altered Reality Books: Domestic Fiction Books: Under 18 & YA

Extra Normal

Here we go with another scary story but this one has all kinds of fun twists. Welcome to the Extra Normal by Kate Alice Marshall book tour hosted by TBR and Beyond Tours

About Extra Normal

extra normal book cover

Title: Extra Normal 

Author: Kate Alice Marshall

Genre: Middle-Grade Horror

Publishing Date: August 29, 2023

Find it Here: GoodreadsAmazonB&NIndieBound

It’s hard to fight the supernatural when you’re naturally “un-super.” This chilling middle grade is perfect for fans of Stranger Things and Scary Stories to Tell in the Dark…even if they don’t have any special powers.

Charlie Greer is nothing special—at least not compared to her adopted siblings. Her younger sister is a ghost. Her brother Mateo is a werewolf. Gideon is the product of seriously sketchy experiments that gave him telekinetic powers. Even her parents work for the Division of Extranormal Investigations tracking down all things supernatural, alien, and otherwise unusual.

Charlie’s mom says her superpower is maturity—which doesn’t really count. But what Charlie lacks in powers she makes up for by keeping the household running. Now, with her parents off on their first vacation in years, it’s up to her to take care of her siblings and make sure nothing disrupts the trip.

But then the new neighbors arrive. The Weavers are a nice, normal couple. Too nice and too normal. And for some reason, they don’t seem to want Charlie to see inside their house. She’s certain they’re hiding something. Charlie has to uncover what’s going on with the Weavers and stop their plans—without letting Mom and Dad find out anything is wrong.

Review for Extra Normal

This is a great read for any age (though I like super scary, this is more sweet scary). All the characters are well-written. I instantly fell in love with Charlie – the household responsibility sponge. Though the parents weren’t actually around much, we learn about them as they fit into the dynamics. They’re secret paranormal agents and need a vacation. They also appreciate Charlie and let her know she’s loved! The sibling relationship is equally sweet with some good old rambunction thrown in.

I enjoyed the basic storyline while the mystery was exquisitely done. I would recommend this book.

About the Author

Kate Alice Marshall is the author of young adult and middle-grade novels, including I AM STILL ALIVE, RULES FOR VANISHING, and THIRTEENS.

She lives outside of Seattle with her husband, two dogs named Vonnegut and Octavia, and two kids. They all conspire to keep her on her toes.

WebsiteTwitterInstagramGoodreads

extra normal book tour schedule

Extra Normal Tour Schedule

Follow along and see what others are saying!

Get the Latest

Sign up for my newsletter – only sent twice a month – and find out about other awesome books like this one. There are usually several giveaways going on. What are you waiting for? Sign up now!

Subscribe for FREEBIES!

* indicates required