Books Books: Altered Reality

The Forbidden Realms

It’s my turn on the Forbidden Realms by HC Newell blog tour hosted by Escapist Tours.

About the Book

forbidden realms book cover

Title: The Forbidden Realms

Author: H.C. Newell

Series: Fallen Light

Genre: Dark Fantasy, Grimdark

Intended Age Group: Adult

Pages: 465

Published: July 31, 2022

Publisher: Self Published

Buy it: Amazon (blog books)

Author Direct, signed copy: Here  

Find it: Goodreads

Nerana is a sorceress. An exile. The Child of Skye.

And she isn’t alone.

After a vicious attack against the Order of Saro, Nerana finds herself lost in the wastelands of Aragoth. Forbidden of humans or evae, the desert is a land teeming with fire and vengeance, and Nerana’s only hope for survival lies in the trust of another.

Aélla, a powerful evaesh sorceress, travels the desert on a pilgrimage of sacrifice and strength. Determined to enter the Realm of Elements and see her quest complete, she must survive the hardened warriors of the desert, the vaxros, who banished her kind from their land centuries ago.

But the vaxros aren’t the only threat, and the weight of such imbalance could shift the fate of the world.

Content/Trigger Warnings

  • Grief
  • Violence
  • Death
  • Gore
  • Horror
  • Monsters
  • Racism (Humans vs. Elves vs. Vaxros. Literally every race hates each other.)
  • Cliffhanger


This was a great sequel to Curse of the Fallen and I can hardly wait for the next book in this series. Our favorite characters are back including Neer and the emotional roller coaster she’s on. Another favorite is Thallon, full of wit and sarcasm. The world building improved from the first book and was easily immersible. I would add another trigger warning – this book is non stop action and adventure, put on your seatbelt and settle in for the ride. Caution! Late night reading ahead.

About the Author of The Forbidden Realms

H.C. Newell is an American author of epic fantasy. She is best known for the Fallen Light fictional universe, in which her fantasy novel Curse of the Fallen, is set.

Newell began her writing journey at a young age. In elementary school, she would often write small plays for her and her cousins to perform. In middle and high school her love of writing transformed into fiction literature, which she would write in spiral-bound notebooks. By 2015, she had written more than 5 romance and young adult novels and several short stories. 

In 2014, Newell started her first novel series, Forthwind, which was a young adult trilogy. As she grew as an author, she found her niche in adult fantasy, and created the Fallen Light universe. This six-part novel series took Newell over seven years to create. She published her debut novel “Curse of the Fallen” in April 2021.

Newell’s works have been compared by readers to authors such as J. R. R. Tolkien, Brandon Sanderson, Andrejz Sapkowski, and Robert Jordan among others. Newell lives in Nashville, TN with her husband.


The Forbidden Realms Blog Tour

book blog for forbidden realms

Sign up for my newsletter for new releases and giveaways!

Subscribe for FREEBIES!

* indicates required