Books Books: Suspense & Thrillers

Mirror Girls

MIRROR GIRLS by Kelly McWilliams is now available! I’m so excited to be on the Blog Tour hosted by Rockstar Book Tours. Keep reading about this fantastic book and make sure to enter the giveaway! 

About Mirror Girls

Penned by author Kelly McWilliams, MIRROR GIRLS was published on February 8, 2022 by Little, Brown Books for Young Readers. It is available in hardcover, eBook, and audiobook.

Find it: GoodreadsAmazon, Kindle, Audible, B&NiBooks, KoboTBD, Bookshop.org

A thrilling gothic horror novel about biracial twin sisters separated at birth, perfect for fans of Lovecraft Country and The Vanishing Half

The Storyline

As infants, twin sisters Charlie Yates and Magnolia Heathwood were secretly separated after the brutal lynching of their parents, who died for loving across the color line. Now, at the dawn of the Civil Rights Movement, Charlie is a young Black organizer in Harlem, while white-passing Magnolia is the heiress to a cotton plantation in rural Georgia. 

Magnolia knows nothing of her racial heritage, but secrets are hard to keep in a town haunted by the ghosts of its slave-holding past. When Magnolia finally learns the truth, her reflection mysteriously disappears from mirrors—the sign of a terrible curse. Meanwhile, in Harlem, Charlie’s beloved grandmother falls ill. Her final wish is to be buried back home in Georgia—and, unbeknownst to Charlie, to see her long-lost granddaughter, Magnolia Heathwood, one last time. So Charlie travels into the Deep South, confronting the land of her worst nightmares—and Jim Crow segregation.

The sisters reunite as teenagers in the deeply haunted town of Eureka, Georgia, where ghosts linger centuries after their time and dangers lurk behind every mirror. They couldn’t be more different, but they will need each other to put the hauntings of the past to rest, to break the mirrors’ deadly curse—and to discover the meaning of sisterhood in a racially divided land.

Reviews

“Steeped in atmosphere, equal parts ghost and sororal love story, McWilliams has written a pitch-perfect southern gothic thriller about race, family, and what it means to call a place home.”―Christina Hammonds Reed, award-winning author of The Black Kids

“A moving story about sisterhood and perseverance in the face of a society that tells Black girls they are worthless.”―Booklist

“MIRROR GIRLS is a spine-tingling, empowering look at justice and civil action that urges readers to be aware, to be true to themselves and to take action. As Magnolia observes, ‘As twin sisters, white and Black, we are a symbol of coming victory. A promise of change.’”―BookPage, starred review

“A spooky Southern gothic ghost story. “―BCCB

About the Author

Kelly McWilliams is a mixed-race writer. She is the author of Doormat and Agnes at the End of the World. She lives in Seattle with her family.

Find Kelly on:

Website |  Facebook | Instagram Goodreads | Amazon | BookBub

Mirror Girls Giveaway

3 winners will receive a finished copy of MIRROR GIRLS, US Only.

Don’t miss this one! Good Luck!

Enter Here

Mirror Girls Tour Schedule

Mirror Girls Blog Tour Schedule

Week One:

2/7/2022The Reading Devil Excerpt
2/7/2022BookHounds YA Excerpt
2/8/2022For the Love of KidLitExcerpt
2/8/2022Rajiv’s ReviewsReview
2/9/2022More Books Please blogReview
2/9/2022OneMoreExclamationReview
2/10/2022Wishful EndingsReview
2/10/2022Kait Plus BooksReview
2/11/2022@simplybeccameeReview
2/11/2022The Book NutReview

New Release

Peter the Turtle Can’t Poop, a children’s book was released on 2.2.22 – find out more about Peter here.

While laughing, children will learn the importance of friendship, healthy eating, and putting litter in a bin.

Subscribe for FREEBIES!

* indicates required